Header img
Beyond Penn's Treaty

Minutes of the Committee on Indian Concern No 1

Page out of 174

James Mott

, Shadrach Ricketson, John Murray,
Lydia Mott, Jemima Bunken, Phebe Field,
Catharine Murray, Martha Willis, Abraham J Underhill
Thomas Rotch, Matthew Franklin, Isaac Thorn Ju.
& Richard Mott; and if way should open, they are
desired to extend their notice to such other Tribe or
Tribes in their vicinity, as they may judge suitable

Adjourned to fourth day evening at half past
At a Meeting of the Committee 31st of 5 mo 1809

Present 33 members

The situation of the Montauk Tribe

before the Committee, the consideration of the
subject resulted in making an appointment to visit
them & to extend their notice to the Shinecock Tribe
& such other as they may judge have a claim
thereto; and Gideon Seaman, Robert Bowne,
Andrew Cock, Saml. Parsons, Elizabeth Byrd, Elizabeth
, Martha Willis are appointed
to that service